Scholar Badge Ceremony Class XII (Sections: I-M And U-X)

The Scholar Badge Ceremony for Class XII was held on 30th October 2017 at Delhi Public School, R.KPuram. The students, the parents and the teachers look forward to this prestigious occasion every year in which students excelling in academics and co-curricular activities are awarded on stage.

The Chief Guest for the occasion was Her Excellency, Ms.Joanna Kempkers, the High Commissioner of New Zealand. She is currently the Chief of Protocol at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. The Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal and Vice Principals, Dr. Renu Nayar and Ms. Padma Srinivasan also graced the occasion with their presence.

The event commenced with the inaugural lighting of the lamp. The school orchestra welcomed the Chief Guest with a beautiful ensemble of symphonies.The Principal felicitated the Chief Guest,which was followed by a film showcasing the school’s achievements in academics, sports and extracurricular activities. In her welcome address the Principal congratulated all the parents and students. She highlighted the importance of time management and told the students not to chase meaningless goals which invariably lead to empty hands. She ended by saying, “Take care of today and today will take care of tomorrow.”

The topic for the cultural programme was ‘Your moment is now’. This was showcased through speeches which captivated the audience, breathtaking dance performances and a medley of songs by the group, ABBA, performed by the school choir.

The Chief Guest addressed the gathering and congratulated all the awardees. She said that the ceremony had made her realize the significance of living in the moment. She encouraged everyone to stop time travelling and instead, learn to savour the moment. Praising New Zealand for its education and culture, she ended by singing a song in her traditional language, which imparted the message of love, hope and peace to all.

The students were then felicitated by the Chief Guest, Her Excellency Ms. Joanna Kempkers, the Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal and the Vice Principal, Ms. Padma Srinivasan, with the class representative, Ms. Allinda Holla conducting the ceremony. The Ishwar Chandra Memorial Award, the DeepanvitaBaisya Memorial Award, the UnnatiIyerMemorial Award and awards to the 2017 C.B.S.E. toppers were also distributed. The mother of ShagunGoel, who is presently in the Stanford University and parents of Ojaswi Malik, who is currently studying in the University of Hong Kong collected the awards on their behalf. They were not only the School toppers but were also CBSE Delhi toppers.

The vote of thanks was delivered by the Vice Principal, Dr. Renu Nayar. The ceremony concluded with the National Anthems of New Zealand and India.