Scholar Badge Ceremony 2017 – Class X Sections H-M

The Scholar Badge Ceremony of Class X Sections H-M was held on 31st October 2017 at Delhi Public School R.K.Puram. The students and parents excitedly look forward to this event where meritorious students, both in the fields of academics and co-curricular activities are felicitated on stage.

The Chief Guest for the occasion, Rear Admiral M.M Chopra, Vice-Chairman of the DPS Society was welcomed by the Principal, Ms Vanita Sehgal and Vice Principals, Dr. Renu Nayar and Ms. Anita Singh.

The event commenced with the lighting of the lamp. This was followed by a scintillating performance by the school orchestra and the felicitation of the chief guest. A short film of the school’s achievements was screened which elicited a huge round of applause from all present.

The welcome address was given by the Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal, who congratulated the students on their achievements and introduced the theme for the ceremony, ‘Imperfectly Perfect’. She captivated the audience with an anecdote emphasizing that strengths and values are what make up perfection. She concluded by quoting Albert Camus, “Do not walk in front of me, for I may not follow, do not walk behind me, for I may not lead, walk beside me, and be my friend .”

The cultural programme was an amalgamation of performances. The dancers swayed, the choir sang a moving melody and the actors took the stage by storm transferring everyone to a different era. The play emphasized the importance of cherishing one’s flaws with real-life examples, including those of Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam and Ms. Deepa Malik.

The Chief Guest, Rear Admiral Chopra, expressed his gratitude towards the school for inviting him to interact with the young meritorious scholars. He also commended their achievements and wished them luck in attaining the three unalienable rights, “Life, Liberty, Pursuit of Happiness” as stated by Thomas Jefferson. Rear Admiral Chopra left the students with the mission to find what gives them pleasure and happiness.

The Award Distribution Ceremony was conducted by the Class Representative, Ms. Vinita Gupta who introduced the scholars. The Chief Guest, the Principal and the Vice Principal congratulated and felicitated the students with the awards.

The Vice Principal, Ms. Anita Singh, delivered the vote of thanks and the ceremony concluded with the National Anthem.