Scholar Badge Ceremony 2017 – Class XI Sections D, F-L and U-X

The much awaited Scholar Badge Ceremony of Class XI (Sections D, F-L, U-X) was hosted by DPS R.K. Puram on 8 November 2017 for the academic year 2017-18, where students are recognized for their achievements in the previous academic years.

Professor John Varghese, Principal, St. Stephen’s College, being the Chief Guest, was felicitated with a token of regard by the Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal. The president of the University of Hong Kong, Professor Peter Mathieson graced the occasion as the Guest of Honour. The Vice Principals Dr. Renu Nayar and Ms. Padma Srinivasan were also present for the event.

The ceremony commenced with the lighting of the lamp. The school orchestra filled the auditorium with positive vibes by presenting a well synchronized and rhythmic symphony. Thereafter a short film celebrating the achievers and recounting the events hosted by the school was screened.

Addressing the audience, the Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal quoted Oscar Wilde, who said, “Be yourself; everyone else is already taken” and later emphasized on the individuality of each student.  Her most important piece of advice was to never stop learning; she feels life ends when one decides one can’t learn further.

The overall theme of the performances was “Temet Nosce”, which translates to ‘Know Thyself’. The speeches about a teenager’s perspective on exploration of identity grabbed everyone’s attention. It was followed by a scintillating dance performance presented by the Dance Club members. A brilliantly performed skit, set in the fictional world of Harry Potter connected with the hearts of the young audience.

The Chief Guest disagreed with the view that awards are the sole measure of success. “Giving everyone our ear but only a few our tongues”, is what he believes in. The Guest of Honour congratulated all the Scholar Badge achievers, without forgetting to acknowledge the immense efforts put in by parents and teachers and appreciating the school’s Mission Statement.

The Class Representative, Ms. Richa Aggarwal, conducted the awards distribution ceremony. On this prestigious occasion, approximately 220 students received awards for their excellence in the fields of academics, sports and co-curricular activities. Two students received special awards for securing first and third positions in the English and Hindi Essay Writing Competition respectively organised by The Delhi Public School Society.

The Vice Principal, Ms. Padma Srinivasan, delivered the vote of thanks. The ceremony concluded with the National Anthem.