Class XI Scholar Badge – 2022-23

The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate.

Oprah Winfrey

Delhi Public School R. K. Puram hosted the Annual Scholar Badge Ceremony for Class XI on 20th January 2023. This highly anticipated day is an occasion to recognize the students who have excelled in academics and co-curricular activities during the previous academic year. 

The ceremony commenced with the lighting of the lamp by the Chief Guest Shri VK Shunglu  Chairman of DPS Society and the Managing Committee of DPS RK Puram, The Principal Ms Padma Srinivasan, Vice Principals  Mr Naresh Miglani, Mr Anil Kumar Kathuria and Mr Mukesh Kumar, the Headmistresses  Ms Rashmi Malhotra and Ms Vinita Gupta. The scintillating beats of the Indian classical orchestra live by the students of the Performing Arts Society captivated the audience. The symphony started off the most awaited event on an auspicious note. 

The Chief Guest for this ceremony, Shri VK Shunglu, Chairman of DPS Society and the Managing Committee DPS RK Puram, was felicitated by the Principal Ms Padma Srinivasan.This was followed by a movie highlighting the exceptional achievements and the heights scaled by the students in various fields under the dynamic leadership of our Principal, during the academic year 2021-22.This movie presented the audience a glimpse of the year gone by; highlighting noteworthy achievements, events, seminars, workshops and competitions and the multitude of activities that students at DPS R. K. Puram engaged and excelled in. 

The Principal, Ms. Padma Srinivasan, addressed the gathering by extending a warm welcome to the Chairman Shri VK Shunglu and thanked him for taking out time from his busy schedule to grace the occasion. She added that the school has always been grateful to the Chairman for setting new challenges and supporting the school towards achieving them.She told the students to face the challenges in life with courage, determination and work hard to meet their potential.

This was followed by a soulful rendition of the song Meri Pehchaan Hai by the  school choir. As excitement filled the auditorium, the students welcomed the audience with the unique charm of Thillana, the Royal Dance of Travancore. 

The Chief Guest, Mr. V.K. Shunglu, started his address by motivating the students and sensitising them to the importance of following their interests and turning them into real passion. He appreciated the efforts put in by the Performing Arts Society, and emphasised  the importance of art not only as a hobby but as a profession, and how art is inextricably linked with life in India. The Chairman proposed the new Cambridge Initiative to be implemented as a pilot project in a segregated manner, starting from the primary school stating that the curriculum would open new vistas and opportunities to children. 

The Award Distribution ceremony commenced with introducing the meritorious students by the class representatives of Class XI Ms Shalini Harisukh, Ms Ritu Kumar and Ms Kusum Yadav . Special awards like the Kusum Sachdeva Stellar Student Award and Prantik Roy Memorial Award were also given to the students.The Prantik Roy Memorial Gold Medal was instituted by Mr and Mrs Roy choudhary in the loving memory of their son Prantik who was a student at DPS RK Puram.The award is given every year to the school class 10th topper, it carries a gold medal and a certificate.This year we also have ”Kusum Sachdeva Stellar Student Award” for Excelling in the Mukhyamantri Vigyan Pratibha Pariksha ,2021. This award is instituted by Ms Manisha and Ms Mukta in remembrance of their mother Ms Kusum Sachdeva who was part of DPS R K Puram as a geography teacher. Ms Manisha was herself present to give away the ”Kusum Sachdeva Stellar Student Award’ .

The Vice Principal Mr Anil Kathuria proposed  the vote of thanks.  He thanked the Chief Guest Shri Vk Shunglu for gracing the occasion, the Principal Ms Padma Srinivasan for her constant support and guidance, and the Class Representatives for their hard work and diligence. He  also congratulated the students for their achievements and diligent effort. 

 The ceremony concluded with the School Anthem and the National Anthem.