The World Mathematical Crusade 2012

The year 2012 has been declared as the National Mathematical Year as a tribute to the great mathematician, Dr. S. Ramanujan by the Government of India to commemorate his 125th birth anniversary. On this occasion Delhi Public School, R.K.Puram organised ‘The World Mathematical Crusade 2012’ an inter-school mathematics symposium, on 27th December 2012.The event was attended by over 70 schools with 240 participants from all over the world.

The objective of the Crusade was to provide a platform for students to share their ideas and skills by engaging in innovative problem solving events which not only highlight the relevance of mathematics as a discipline but also inculcate a spirit of research and enquiry.

The Crusade commenced with the lighting of the lamp by the Chief Guest, Mr. Ashok Chandra, Chairman of the DPS Society.

This was followed by an inaugural ceremony which was also attended by the Guest of Honour Dr. Atul Nischal, co-founder of ‘Ganit Gurooz’, Dr. S K Sahdev, Associate Prof. Delhi University, and the Vice Principal, Ms. Shobha Mehta. On this occasion, the Principal, Dr Saini stressed on the importance of mathematics in the modern age. The presidents of the school’s Mathematical Society, highlighted the school’s achievements in the field of mathematics. Saswat Satapathy of Class X and the winner of the World Memory Championship, showcased his talent.

Mr. Ashok Chandra expressed his views about “Mathematics being the bedrock for all science subjects” and released the latest issue of ‘Mathyard’, the school’s Mathematics magazine.

The crusade offered students a variety of events to help portray their talents like Mathematical Puzzle Solving , Quiz , Four Questions and a Surprise event. The students of the host school also put up an exhibition with innovative and interesting models and presentations. In the morning half, a workshop for teachers was conducted by Dr. Atul Nischal and in the second half, Dr Amitabh Tripathi of IIT Delhi conducted a guest lecture for teachers and students where he explained the Bertrand Theorem. The Results of the contest were as follows:

Overall Best Team – DPS Noida
Overall First Runners Up – Amity International, Saket
Overall Second Runners Up- DPS Dwarka

Dr. Sushma Suneja, Head of the Mathematics Department and Mr. Anil Kathuria , Incharge, Mathematics Lab & Technology Centre, DPS R K Puram along with the Maths Department and the students of the Mathematical Society coordinated the event which was a resounding success.

Exhibition, Events & Award Ceremony