The All India IPSC Basketball Championship (Boys U-14, U-17 & Girls U-17)

The All India IPSC Basketball Championship (Boys U-14, U-17 & Girls U-17) was inaugurated at DPS R.K.Puram on 7 October 2014. 22 Public schools from all over India participated in it. It was inaugurated by Mr. Manoj Singhal, an educationalist, Mr.Manavjit Sandhu, national shooter, Arjuna & Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee and an ex dipsite; Ms.Neha Agarwal, national table tennis player who participated in the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing and and Dr.D.R.Saini, the Principal of the host school, DPS R.K.Puram. Mr.Manoj Singhal declared the tournament open.

The closing ceremony on 10 October was graced by the presence of the Chairman of DPS Society, Mr. V. K. Shunglu and Mr. Ajay Kumar, IRS minister and a respected alumnus. They were welcomed by the Principal, Dr.D.R.Saini; Vice Principal, Mrs. Shobha Mehta; Mrs .Pushpa Agarwal, Vice Principal, DPS Shiksha Kendra; Head Mistresses, Vanita Sehgal and Anita Singh; and Mr.Suresh, Head of the Physical Education department and the coordinator of the event.

The ceremony commenced with the final match for the Under 17 Boys category. The cultural program consisted of a mesmerising Gujarati dance by the students of DPS Shiksha Kendra, an enthralling performance depicting the value of dreams through dance, and a melodious rendition of ‘Top of the world’ by the choir of 8th standard. The Sports Captain, Jasmine Bajaj spoke about IPSC and how, among its numerous benefits, it develops the feeling of cooperation and helps prepare students for service through all walks of life.

Addressing the participants, the Principal, Dr.Saini stressed on the importance of sports and how team work and practice lead to victory.

In the overall results tally, in the Boys Under 14 category, the first position was secured by LK Singhania Education Centre, Gotan, Rajasthan followed by Welham Boys, Dehradun at the second rung. In the Boys Under 17, The Motilal Nehru School of Sports, Rai was the winner followed by Welham Boys, Dehradun. The Girls Under 17 team saw MNSS Rai Sonipat emerge as the winner while the second position was bagged by The Yadavindra Public School (YPS) Mohali, Chandigarh.

It was a proud moment for the winners and a treat for all sports enthusiasts.

[vtftable ]
U-14 Boys;;;Winner;;;LKS Gotan;nn;
U-14 Boys;;;Runner up;;;Welham Boys, Dehradun;nn;
U-17 Girls;;;Winner;;;MNSS Rai, Sonipat;nn;
U-17 Girls;;;Runner up;;;YPS Mohali, Chandigarh;nn;
U-17 Boys;;;Winner;;;MNSS Rai, Sonipat;nn;
U-17 Boys;;;Runner up;;;Welham Boys, Dehradun;nn;