The 6th Armaan Dogra Memorial Football Tournament 2013 – Closing Ceremony

The closing ceremony of the 6th Armaan Dogra Memorial Football Tournament 2013 was held on 24 December 2013. The tournament was held for the students of classes six to eight. Dr Vivek Gogia, an IPS and Joint Commissioner of Police of South- East range, Delhi, consented to be the chief guest. Mr Atul Wassan, former cricketer; Mr. Praveen Jolly, Asian Games Bronze medallist; Mr Garry Guyan, Head coach, Arsenal Soccer School, India; Mr Anadi Barua, coach of Indian women’s football team; Mr Tarun Roy, International level football player; and Mr. Chaman Gupta of Doordarshan also graced the gathering. The Principal, Dr.D.R.Saini; Vice Principal, Mrs Shobha Mehta; Mrs Pushpa Agarwal, Vice Principal, DPS Shiksha Kendra; and Headmistresses, Ms Vanita Sehgal and Mrs Anita Singh were also present.

The event commenced with the lighting of the lamp by the guests followed by their felicitation by Dr and Mrs Dogra, parents of Armaan. The Principal, Dr. Saini addressed the gathering and spoke about traits like ‘honesty, dedication, fairness’ taught by sports.

The cultural program included an inspiring song by the Indian choir, followed by dance performances by students of class 6th and 7th and DPS Shiksha Kendra. Dr. Dogra told students to gain inspiration from the ace players. Mr Atul Wassan spoke to the participants about the role of sports in a child’s life. Mr Praveen Jolly and Mr Garry Guyan elucidated that hard work is the only way to success and said that Armaan’s memory would always be treasured by one and all . Dr Gogia also mentioned that “it is imperative that we should not be afraid of being tested and should look forward to challenges.”

The match between the 6th- 8th All Stars was played followed by the award distribution. From class six, sections J, A and E got the first, second and third positions respectively. Class Seven awards for the first, second and third positions were bagged by sections G, E and K respectively and class 8th winners were sections F, I and J respectively. The special prizes were given to Japman Singh of 8-F for the Best Goalkeeper; Niharika Sharma of 8- I for the Best Girl Player; Anirudh Samaddar of 6-J for scoring the Highest Number of Goals (13); Parth Kothari of 6-J for the Best Player of the Tournament; Kartikey Gupta of 7-I for the Best Striker and Aakrash Jain of 8-F for the Best Defender. The All Stars match was won by 8th standard.

After the award distribution, the chief guest, Dr Gogia officially declared the tournament closed. The Vice Principal, Mrs Shobha Mehta delivered the vote of thanks and impressed on the students the importance of contributing to society.

Closing Ceremony (Part I)

Closing Ceremony (Part II)