The 5th Armaan Dogra Memorial Football Tournament

The closing ceremony of the 5th Armaan Dogra Memorial Football Tournament, which was flagged off on 23rd November 2012, was held at Delhi Public School, R.K.Puram on 21st December 2012. This tournament is held every year for classes six to eleven. The event is held annually in memory of Armaan Dogra, a student of the school who was snatched away by the cruel hands of fate. Armaan was an excellent actor, football player, swimmer and a scholar badge holder.

The chief guest was the Chairman of the OBC Commission ,Justice M.N. Rao and the Guest of Honour was the Vice President of India’s Soccer Federation, Sh .N.K Bhatia. The Principal, Dr. D.R Saini welcomed all the guests. The Vice Principal, Ms. Shobha Mehta, the two headmistresses, Ms. Vanita Sehgal and Mrs. Anita Singh and the Vice Principal of DPS Shiksha Kendra and coordinator of the event, Mrs. Pushpa Agarwal graced the occasion with their presence. Armaan’s father, Dr.P.N.Dogra was present along with other members of the family. The ceremony commenced with the lighting of the lamp.

Neerav Taneja and Sudeepto Bhattacharya shared their fond memories of their dear friend Armaan with the audience. There was a mesmerizing musical performance by the students followed by an entrancing western dance by the dance troupe. Students of DPS Shiksha Kendra showcased Indian patriotism through a vibrant dance to the tune of Vande Mataram. Tatparya Shankar of class twelve presented his free style football skills. This was followed by an exhibition match played between all stars 9th -11th and class 12th.

Armaan’s father, Dr. P.N Dogra expressed his gratitude toward the school and the teachers. Then began the much awaited prize distribution for all the winners of the tournament from classes six to eleven and the all star teams were awarded medals and trophies. Sarthak Batra was declared as the best goalkeeper; Devansh Tandon, the best forward; Mehar Vasant, the best Girls player; Shiven Trivedi, the best defender and Sanil Khimani the highest scorer of the tournament. Vishrut Rai Khatri bagged the position of the Best player of the tournament. The overall winners were the all star team from Class XI.

The chief guest and the guest of honour congratulated the participants and the event concluded with a vote of thanks by the Vice Principal, Mrs. Shobha Mehta.

Aarman Dogra Memorial Football Tournament Closing Ceremony