The 12th Annual Dhruv Rajgarhia Memorial Inter-School Debate

The 12th annual Dhruv Rajgarhia Memorial inter-school debate was organized on 23rd October 2013 at Delhi Public School, R.K.Puram. The debate is held annually in the memory of Dhruv Rajgarhia, a student of the school, who passed away eleven years ago. His passion for debating was the inspiration behind this event. This annual debate was initiated by his grandfather, Mr. K. C. Rajgarhia.

The judges for the day were Mr. Rajesh Mahapatra who has been a journalist for about 20 years and is currently the executive editor of Hindustan Times; Ms.Mita Bose, who has been teaching for the past four decades and is currently the Vice Principal of Indraprastha College for Women, Delhi University; and Ms. Vinita Sethi, Asst. Secretary General & Head Corporate Communications, FICCI who has received a professional certificate in communication skills from Trinity Guildhall, UK.

The debate was held in extempore format. The topics were given to the participants one hour before and were picked by a draw of lots. One interjector per school was allowed. Thirteen schools participated in the event. Topics ranged from “Religion does more harm than good” to “Ban on child performers” which were hotly debated by the participants.

Mr. Rajesh Mahapatra, one of the judges, shared certain tips for improving debating and communication skills with the students. Ms. Vinita had an interactive session with the audience, and spoke about how a debater should connect with the audience.

The Principal, Dr. D.R. Saini, Mr.Rajgarhia, Mr. Rajesh Mahapatra, Ms. Vinita Sethi and the programme coordinator, Ms.Anuradha Dang, distributed the prizes. The third position was bagged by Ananya Kumar from Mother’s International School, the second best speaker prize went to Arjun Kumar of Delhi Public School, R.K Puram and the best speaker was Amandeep Bansal of Delhi Public School, Vasant Kunj. The prize for the best interjector was awarded to Shreyasi of Delhi Public School, Indirapuram, while the rolling trophy was taken home by the team from Delhi Public School, Vasant Kunj.

The debate was immensely insightful and a great experience for all.