11th Annual Dhruv Rajgarhia Memorial Inter-School Debate

The 11th annual Dhruv Rajgarhia Memorial Inter-school debate was organized on 16th August 2012 at DPS R.K.Puram. The debate is held annually in the memory of Dhruv Rajgarhia, a student of the school, who passed away 11 years ago. His passion for debating was the inspiration behind this event. The annual Dhruv Rajgarhia debate was initiated by his grandfather, Mr. K. C. Rajgarhia.

Mr.Alok Bansal, a mechanical engineer from Delhi College of Engineering, with an MBA from Xavier Institute of Management, Bhubaneshwar was one of the judges. He is the founder of the executive education venture called Alethia Education and is now the Director (Northern Region) of IMS – the leader in test prep. He was accompanied by Mr.Anirudh Vasdev, an ex-student from St.Columbus with a diploma in creative writing from Oxford University, England. An avid debater, he’s the recipient of the “Vijay Srinivasan” award for brilliance in extra-curricular endeavors. The third judge of the day was Mr. Anirban Bhattacharya, who works with one of the largest law firm in India, “Amarchand and Mangaldas” with a bachelor’s degree in law from Campus law center, DU and a master’s degree from Columbia law school.

The debate was held in extempore format. The topics were given to the participants one hour before and were picked by a draw of lots. One interjector per school was allowed, and each interjector was allowed to ask only two questions. The time limit for each debate was three minutes. Ten schools participated in the event. Ranging topics from “Steal from the rich and give to the poor” to “Use force to make peace” were given. The topics were hotly debated among the participants.

Before the results were announced, the judges addressed the audience. Mr Anirudh Vasdev stressed on the essence of debating. He said it is important to have an argument, not a discussion. Mr.Anirban Bhattacharya appreciated the students’ awareness of the topics and extolled the importance of such events. He proclaimed the Dhruv Rajgarhia debate to be a symbol of new ideas, which will evolve, and will benefit students in the years to come. Mr.Alok Bansal lauded the variety of the content. He stressed on how debates are not about words, but about bringing value in the form of examples, personal anecdotes etc. in the content. He encouraged students to read more, and know more, which will help them develop character.

The Principal, DPS R.K Puram, Dr.D.R.Saini, the Vice Principal, Mrs.Shobha Mehta, and the Rajgarhia family came on stage for the prize distribution. Sahil Yadav of DPS RK Puram was awarded the Special Jury Award. The 3rd prize for best speaker went to Sumaira Nawaz of DPS Mathura Road, along with a gift voucher from Teksons. The 2ndprize for best speaker went to Chaitanya Sethi of DPS Rohini, who was given a trophy and a gift voucher. The 1st prize for best speaker went to Prabmeher Singh from Modern School, Barakhamba Road, who was awarded a trophy and a gift voucher. The Best interjector award was won by Aastha Vij of DPS Faridabad who was awarded a book. The prestigious Rolling trophy went to Pranay Lekhi, Prabmeher Singh and Sanjana Sanghi from Modern School, Barakhamba Road.

The event provided a platform for young debaters to exchange ideas and was an inspiration to many aspiring ones