SPARK 2013… The International Chemistry Symposium

Spark’13, an interschool competition organized by Catalyst, the chemistry club of Delhi Public School, R.K.Puram was held on the 12th of December, 2013 at DPS R.K Puram. Over 45 schools from across the nation including two from abroad, participated in the various competitions organized by the club.

The chief guest for the occasion was Professor Narayanam Kurur from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi. The judges for the event were Professor Anju Srivastava from The Hindu College, University of Delhi and Professor Geetu Gambhir from Acharya Narendra Dev College. Also present on the occasion were the Prinicipal, Dr. D.R Saini, The Vice Principal, Ms. Shobha Mehta, the Head of the Department, Mr. Prem Dhawan and all the teachers of the chemistry department.

The event commenced with the lighting of the lamp. All the guests were warmly welcomed with the Saraswati Vandana sung by the Indian Music choir. The Head of Department of the Chemistry department, Mr.Prem Dhawan, addressed the gathering and extended a warm welcome to all the participants. The Principal, Dr. D.R. Saini spoke about the significance of Chemistry in everyday life. This was followed by a scintillating dance performance by the students of DPS R.K. Puram. The Chief Guest, Professor Narayanam Kurur addressed the gathering and spoke about Chemistry being a colorful subject.

The various competitions took place one by one. These included the JAM competition, Chem Canvas, Chem Bowl Prelims and Final Quiz, Chembola and the Surprise Event. A science exhibition was organized by some science enthusiasts of the school. The students of the Expressions Theatre Club put up a short play on the theme of violence against women, which received a huge round of applause from the audience.

This was followed by the prize distribution ceremony. The overall winner of the event was DPS Rohini. DPS Noida bagged the first position in the JAM competition followed by DPS Sharjah. The Chem Canvas competition was won by Birla Vidya Niketan while DPS Gurgaon came second. The Chem bowl prelims and final quiz was won by DPS Mathura Road, followed by DPS Rohini. The first position in the surprise event was bagged by DAV Public School, Gurgaon while DPS Rohini was awarded the second position. Last but not the least, the Chembola competition was won by Sadhu Vaswani School while the second position was bagged by the Sanskriti School.

The Vice Principal, Ms. Shobha Mehta delivered the vote of thanks. It was a memorable experience for all the students.

Opening Ceremony

Events & Award Ceremony