‘Scientia est Potentia’ – Inter-School Science Festival

“Science is the poetry of reality”

Delhi Public School, RK Puram hosted its Annual Inter-School Science Festival, ‘Scientia est Potentia’, on 28 April 2018.

A total of 24 schools across Delhi NCR, actively participated in this five hour long event.

The Teachers-in-charge – Mr JS Virdi, Head of Department, Physics; Mr Prem Dhawan, Head of Department, Chemistry and Ms Niva Chhonkar, Head of Department, Biology and Biotechnology coordinated the event.

A collaborative effort of the PhySoc (Physics Club), Catalyst, Pre-pharmacy (Chemistry Clubs) and Inquisito (Biology Club) of the school, the festival consisted of various onsite and off-site activities in the diverse field of science – the 7 onsite events included ‘Classical Debate’, ‘Model Making’, ‘Science Quiz’, ‘Chem Canvas’, ‘Ad-act-Actinium’, ‘Outdoor Lab’ and ‘Let’s Innovate’; while the only off-site event was ‘Poster Making’, held in two categories.

In Classical Debate, intense deliberations between students involved them putting forward their opinions and ideas on the topics ‘Mars is the Next Address for Earth’ and ‘Hydrogen is the Fuel for the Future’.

Students assembled inexpensive working models to outline the principles of Physics and presented realistic, indigenous designs in Model Making.

The Science Quiz, in its multiple stages, provided a platform to test students’ knowledge on the history, significance and application of theories relating to Physics, Chemistry and Biology.

Chem Canvas brought out a mix of graphic, aesthetically pleasing posters showcasing different Chemistry concepts.

In Ad-act-Actinium, several entertaining and informative student-created advertisements were theatrically expressed, showcasing the significance of Chemistry in various products used in everyday life.

Outdoor Lab was a way of bringing out the inner scientist in the youngest of learners, who experimentally demonstrated and provided live explanations of the same to the judges about chosen concepts of Biology.

Let’s Innovate gave a voice to students to effectively teach a given Biology topic, in an unorthodox manner, by making use of eye-catching yet simple presentations.

Prof. N K Sehgal, an author with more than 43 years of teaching experience judged ‘Classical Debate’ along with Prof. Meenakshi Malhotra, Associate Professor, English, Hansraj College.

Dr Deepak Gaur, Professor, Biotechnology, JNU along with Dr Sarita Kumar, Assistant Professor, University of Delhi, judged ‘Let’s Innovate’.

Dr Robin Suyesh, Assistant Professor, Environmental and Bio Sciences, Sri Venkateswara College along with Dr Ritu Gaur, Associate Dean, Faculty of Life Sciences and Biotechnology, South Asian University were the judges for ‘Outdoor Lab’.

‘Ad-Act-Actinium’ was judged by Dr Geetu Gambhir and Dr Charu Khosla Gupta, Professors, Chemistry, University of Delhi.

Dr Soni Rastogi, Professor, Aurobindo College along with Mr Shiven Singh Tanvar, Art Department, Delhi Public School, RK Puram were judges for ‘Chem Canvas’.

‘Model Making’ was judged by Mr Rati Kant Jha and Ms Komal Chopra, Department of Physics, Delhi Public School, RK Puram.

The Valedictory Function began with an upbeat rendition of Atithi Devo Bhavah, sung in a splendid baritone, which was followed by a monochromatic, meaningful mime act on the theme ‘Saving the Environment.’

The HODs of the Science Department felicitated the Chief Guest, Ms. Vanita Sehgal, Principal, DPS RK Puram, with a token of regard.

Mr JS Virdi, HOD, Physics, found pleasure in extending a hearty welcome to the Chief Guest and the judges. He thanked his colleagues, without whom, he felt, this harmonious ceremony would not have been possible. He emphasised DPS RK Puram’s efforts in inculcating values and character apart from ensuring academic excellence.

This paved the way for a visual presentation that displayed the glimpses of the morning events.

The winning teams of ‘Ad-Act-Actinium’ and ‘Lets Innovate’ were invited to present their acts on stage.

The Chief Guest, Ms Vanita Sehgal, deemed the exhibitions absolutely fantastic. She believes that one should have passion for what they are studying, and considered the experience of meeting others superior to that of winning. ‘Think Lab’, a step taken by the school towards endowing students with skills that fit in well with today’s dynamic world and hence towards enabling them to work on projects mentored by teachers and experts, was highlighted upon by her. In her opinion, a team which holds hands is the team which goes forward. She concluded by thanking the Science faculty and reminding the students to not lose hope because if they didn’t win today, tomorrow would always be there.

The much awaited Prize Distribution Ceremony was conducted by Ms Alinda Holla. To hand out the well-deserved awards, the Chief Guest along with the Heads of Departments and the judges were invited on stage. The overall winners were Birla Vidya Niketan.

The Vote of Thanks was delivered by Mr Prem Dhawan, HOD, Chemistry.

The event concluded with the National Anthem.


Name of Event School Position
Science Quiz Modern School, Barakhamba Road First
Mount Carmel School, Dwarka Second
DPS  Gurgaon, Sector 45 Third
Model Making DPS Vasant Kunj First
Amity International School, Saket Second
Bluebells International School, Kailash Colony Third
Chem Canvas Birla Vidya Niketan, Pushp Vihar First
DPS Vasant Kunj Second
Modern School, Barakhamba Road Third
Ad-Act-Actinium Ryan International School, Vasant Kunj First
DPS Gurgaon, Sector 45 Second
DPS Mathura Road Third
Outdoor Lab Birla Vidya Niketan, Pushp Vihar First
Bluebells International School, Kailash Colony Second
DPS Vasant Kunj Third
Let’s Innovate DPS Gurgaon, Sector 45 First
Vivekanand School Second
Birla Vidya Niketan, Pushp Vihar Third
Classic Debate Bal Bharti Public School, Pitampura First
DPS Greater Faridabad Second
DPS Gurgaon, Sector 45 Third
Poster Making – Junior Level Modern School, Barakhamba Road First
DPS Greater Faridabad Second
DPSI, Saket Third
Poster Making – Senior Level Bluebells International School, Kailash Colony First
Birla Vidya Niketan, Pushp Vihar Second
Mount Carmel School Third