Science and Mathematics Symposium 2016

The Mathematical Society, the Catalyst Club, the Pre-Pharmacy Club and the Physics Society of DPS R.K. Puram hosted an inter-school symposium on 3rd December 2016. The ‘Science and Mathematics Symposium 2016’ aimed at providing the students a platform to exchange ideas and developments in the fields of science and mathematics. A large number of schools from all over the country and abroad participated in the event.

Present on the occasion were the Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal; the Vice Principal, Ms. Anita Singh; the Head of Departments of Mathematics, Mr.Anil Kathuria; Chemistry, Mr. Prem Dhawan and Physics, Mr.J.S.Virdi, along with other faculty members.

The chief guest for the event was Professor M. Jagadesh Kumar, Vice Chancellor at JNU and Professor at IIT Delhi, also present at the occasion were Dr. Geetu Gambhir Asst. Professor of Chemistry at A.N.D. College; Ms Smriti Bhatia, Asst. Professor at Miranda House Delhi University; Dr. Vinita Malani, Artist Mr. Raghuvansh Shah and Mrs.Monica Bhatia, Ex. Faculty member DPS RK Puram, Dr. Jonaki Ghosh, Assistant Professor at LSR, Dr. Haneet Gandhi, Assistant Professor at CIE, as judges for the events. Symposium 2016 was an amalgamation of 9 events, “Crossword and Problem Solving, Quiz, Treasure Hunt, Ads Act, Experimental Demonstration, Model Making, Fun Games, Photography and Chem Canvas.”

The event commenced with the lighting of lamp, and the felicitation of the chief guest and the judges for the various events. The Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal addressed the gathering and emphasised on the fact that, “winning is important, but not everything.” She asked the participants to have fun and talked about the importance of science in our life.

The school choir set the tempo with a mellifluous song which was followed by enthralling classical and ballet dance performances. The chief guest, Professor M. Jagadesh Kumar addressed the gathering and spoke about science as an important tool to bring about change and also spoke about Innovation Techniques.
The Annual Magazines of the respective clubs were released. The students participated in the various events with full gusto and gave their best.

DPS Ranipur bagged the first position in “Fun Games”. DPS Rajnagar came first in the Photography Contest. The first and second runner-ups were DPS Roorkee and DPS Ranipur respectively. In the Crossword category, DPS Ranipur came first, while the second position was bagged by DPS Roorkee. The Indian School came third. DPS Sharjah won the Model Making Contest while S.R. Residential Public School came second followed by The Indian School. DPS Sushant Lok was given a special mention in this category for their brilliant performance. DAV Model School won the first position in Chem Canvas. The second and third positions were bagged by St, Columba’s School and New Horizon School respectively. Bal Bharti School, Dwarka outperformed everyone in the Quiz Contest. They were followed by Tagore International School and The Indian School. The Treasure Hunt’s winner was Modern School, Barakhamba Road. The first runner-up was DPS Ranipur while Bal Bharti School came third. The Indian School won the Demo Contest followed by Bal Bharti School and Modern School.

In the Overall Winners category, The Indian School came first and was awarded the Trophy. Bal Bharti School came second while the third position was bagged by DPS Ranipur.

The Vice Principal, Ms. Anita Singh gave the vote of thanks and thanked the Heads of Departments, teachers and the student for their support and hard work in making this event a great success.