Scholar Badge Ceremony – Class IX (Sections G-M)

Delhi Public School, R.K.Puram hosted the Scholar Badge ceremony, the most coveted event of the academic session, for Class IX, for Sections G to M on 23rd November 2012. It is a day when the school acknowledges talent and appreciates excellence in both academics as well as extracurricular activities such as music, dance and sports. The ceremony commenced with the lighting of the lamp by the Principal, Dr. D. R. Saini, along with the chief guest, His Excellency, Mr. Stewart Beck, The High Commissioner for Canada to India. This was followed by a splendid performance by the orchestra.

The Vice Principal of the school, Ms. Shobha Mehta and the Headmistress, Ms. Vanita Sehgal also graced the occasion. The Principal warmly welcomed the chief guest with a bouquet and shed light on the school’s achievements in the past year in the fields of academics and sports. He thanked the parents and teachers for their continuous support and guidance. “We are giving out these badges because of the determination, dedication and hard work of the students and their parents.” said Dr. Saini. The performance by the western music choir of class nine and the extremely graceful dance left everyone speechless. Some students of class IX spoke about various professional avenues available and how everyone aspires to achieve excellence in their fields. The students of DPS Shiksha Kendra danced to patriotic songs.

The chief guest, His Excellency, Mr. Stewart Beck congratulated the students and the parents. He stated that, these badges are given to those students who have been blessed and provided an opportunity in life that is not available to many Indian children. Mr. Beck had a very interesting interactive session with the parents and students. He spoke about the Indian and the Canadian educational systems and the relationship that exists between the two countries. According to him, “even though India and Canada are separated by distance, we share the same common values and have a similar constitution”.

The awards were announced by Ms. Vinita Gupta, the representative of class IX and were distributed by the chief guest and the Principal. The vote of thanks was delivered by Ms. Vanita Sehgal followed by the National Anthem.

Cultural Programme

Award Ceremony