IPSC Swimming Championship 2012 – Closing Ceremony

Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram had the proud privilege of hosting the 27th All India IPSC Swimming Championship (Boys & Girls) from 29 September to 1 October 2012. Over 500 children from 23 schools across the country attended the event.

The closing ceremony took place on 1st October 2012.The programme commenced with the lighting of the lamp by the chief guest, the Chairman of DPS Society, Mr.Ashok Chandra, The Vice Principal, Mrs.Shobha Mehta welcomed all the guests. Mrs.Pushpa Aggarwal, Vice Principal, DPS Shiksha Kendra; Mr.Mukesh Kumar, Supervisor; Ms.Vanita Sehgal and Mrs.Anita Singh, Headmistresses of DPS R.K.Puram were present on the occasion along with Mrs Archana Pental and Mrs Dolly Chanana, Headmistresses of the junior schools, Vasant Vihar and East of Kailash respectively and Mr. N. Suresh, Coordinator Physical Education department.

The school choir welcomed everyone with a melodious song. A vibrant Rajasthani dance was performed by the students of DPS R.K.Puram followed by an energetic dance by the students of DPS Shiksha Kendra to the beats of ‘Dhan Dhana Dhan’ from the movie ‘Goal’.

The Chairman, Mr. Ashok Chandra addressed the gathering and congratulated all the participants. He expressed his appreciation for the immense talent displayed by them and stressed on the importance of such meets as great ‘learning experiences’ which make ‘better human beings’ and provide ‘opportunities for bonding together and forging lifelong friendships.’

Then came the much awaited moment, the results and the prize distribution.The Best swimmers prize in the Under 19 Boys category went to Bobby Rana of Modern School, Barakhamba Road, with three new meet records and the Under 19 Girls was bagged by Anjali Nair of the same school . For the Boys Under 17, Harsh Yadav of DPS R.K.Puram got the best swimmer prize with five new meet records and the girls Under 17 went to Kavya Anand of the same school with five new meet records. Girls Under 14, was bagged jointly by, Diksha Tokas of DPS R. K. Puram with three new meet records & Jasmine Chawla of DPS Mathura Road.

In the overall tally, the Second runners up (Boys & Girls) was DPS R.K.Puram with 437 points. The overall runners up for both categories was Modern School, Barakhamba Road with 456 points and the overall winner (Boys & Girls) of the Championship was Motilal Nehru School of Sports, Rai, Sonipat with 530 points.

The meet was declared closed by the Chairman, Mr. Ashok Chandra.

Day 3 Events