Investiture Ceremony 2011

The investiture ceremony of Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram was held on 21st October 2011 in the school greens. The chief guest for the occasion was Mr. Ashok Chandra, Chairman of the D.P.S. Society. The Principal, Dr. D.R Saini warmly welcomed him. Also present on the occasion were the school’s Vice Principals, Ms. Shobha Mehta and Dr. R.G. Verma along with the Headmistresses, Ms. Vanita Sehgal and Ms. Anita Singh.

The programme began with a self composed inspirational song sung by the school choir. This was followed by the march past led by the head boys and head girls of the school. The school appointments then took the oath of office “to uphold the values and traditions of the school, dedicate themselves to the motto service before self and pledge to take it to even greater heights.”

The newly appointed head boys, Shubham Goel and Abhishek Chandra, and head girls, Abhishri and Shruti Sethi, shared their visions for the great institution which was followed by a classical dance performance by the students of DPS. R.K.Puram and DPS. Siksha Kendra which touched the hearts of the audience.

Mr. Ashok Chandra then addressed the gathering calling the school ‘a synonym for high quality education.’ He appreciated the school for taking care not only of its regular students but even those who come for financially weak backgrounds. He mentioned that the students of today will become leaders of tomorrow in different walks of life. He called the Investiture the most important function in the school’s calendar, where badges of distinction, honour and tremendous responsibilities are given to leaders who carry a team, perform duties and are sensitive to the needs of others.

The President of the Student’s Council then announced the various awards won by students of the school and called upon Mr. Chandra and Dr. Saini to present them with the trophies. Students were awarded trophies in the fields of art, dance, music, literary activities and sports.

The investiture ceremony concluded with a vote of thanks by the Vice Principal, Mrs. Shobha Mehta, followed by the national anthem.