Investiture Ceremony 2012

On 7th September 2012, Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram, held its Investiture Ceremony. The ceremony is an important event in the school’s calendar as the newly elected appointees take up the mantle of responsibility to lead the school. The chief guest was Mr. Ashok Chandra, the Chairman of the DPS Society. The Principal, Dr.D.R.Saini extended a warm welcome to all the guests. The school orchestra played an enchanting fusion of Indian and Western classical music. The Vice Principal, Mrs. Shobha Mehta; the Headmistresses, Ms. Vanita Sehgal and Mrs. Anita Singh were present on the occasion.

The Head Girls and Boys led a march past. Mr. Ashok Chandra administered the oath of office and all the school appointees pledged to uphold the values and traditions of the school and follow the school’s motto of ‘Service before self’. The Head Girls and Boys spoke about the influence of DPS R.K Puram on their lives and shared their vision for the school. According to one of them, “All one needs is a will and this institution will find a way”.

The cultural programme commenced with a traditional Indian song, ‘Bhor Bhayo’, which was followed by a colourful Gujrati semi-classical dance, and a regional dance from Karnataka. The students of DPS Shiksha Kendra presented a patriotic dance on the song, ‘Satyamev Jayate’. The students highlighted burning issues like ‘corruption’ and ‘the right to education’.

Mr. Ashok Chandra awarded several meritorious students who had won laurels for the school in various fields and felicitated Dr. D.R. Saini for receiving the ‘National Teacher’s Award’ from the President of India, Mr. Pranab Mukherjee. He congratulated the school appointees and said that they were ‘role models for the whole school’. He encouraged all students to grasp the opportunities that came their way. He stressed that a good school is one that ‘makes better individuals who work for the welfare of society’. Mr.Chandra added that education should encompass different aspects of development.

The Vice Principal, Mrs. Shobha Mehta delivered the vote of thanks, followed by the National Anthem.