Eucrasia’13, an interschool competition, organized by the Active Youth Health Club of the school took place in Delhi Public School, R.K.Puram on the 19th of November 2013.

Mr. Ashok Chandra, Chairman of the DPS Society was present on the occasion. The event commenced with the lighting of the lamp. All the guests were warmly welcomed with a scintillating performance by the school orchestra. The Principal, Dr. D.R Saini addressed the gathering and spoke about the importance of health and nutrition. Also present was Mrs.Anita Singh, Headmistress; Mr.S.K.Arora, Head of the Biology department of the school; .and Mrs.Jyoti Sharma, in-charge of the Active Youth Health Club and co-coordinator of this event; along with other teachers of the Biology department.

The judges for the competitions were Dr. Vaishali Gupta from AIIMS, Dr. Prateek Gupta from Sri Ganga Ram Hospital, Dr. Monika Arora and Ms. Manjusha Chatterjee from Public Health Foundation of India and Mrs. Swati Bhatia from Rajya Sabha TV. 10 schools from around Delhi and NCR participated in the various competitions.

The first event was the Movie Making competition. Various schools presented short films on topics like Organ donation, Drug abuse and Adolescent health. This was followed by the Turncoat competition. A number of students debated on topics related to Health and Nutrition. Last but not the least, was the Spotlight competition where the students of the various schools showcased their talent in the form of street plays on topics like Female Foeticide, Prevention from diseases and Health and Nutrition.

A heart rending performance was put up by the western music choir on the ‘Unborn Girl Child’. In the final prize tally, DPS Sushant Lok was awarded the best prize in Movie Making; Bal Bharti Public School, Pitampura won the first position in the Spotlight competition and Springdales School bagged the first position in the Turncoat competition. Mr.Chandra congratulated the participants and spoke about the relevance of the girl child in the society.

The Head of the Biology department, Dr. S.K Arora delivered the vote of thanks