The class X Scholar Badge Ceremony for sections A to G was held on January 19, 2015 from 8:00 am onwards in the school Audio-Visual Hall. The ceremony is a much awaited event in the school calendar as parents, teachers and students look forward to the day when the meritorious are honoured on stage. The Chief Guest for the day was Prof. S.K. Sopory, Vice-Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru University. Prof. Bhattacharjee, an alumunus of Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram of the 1990 batch and an IIT-ian, was a special invitee. The Principal, Dr. D.R Saini; the Vice-Principal, Mrs Shobha Mehta; the Vice-Principal of DPS Shiksha Kendra, Mrs Pushpa Agarwal; the Headmistresses Ms. Vanita Sehgal and Mrs. Anita Singh, were also present.

The programme began with the ceremonial lighting of the lamp in the foyer outside the Principal’s office. This was accompanied by a sweet rendition of a Hindi devotional song by the students. In the Audio-Visual Hall, the Indian Instrumental Choir of the school set the programme in motion with an invocation orchestra set in ‘Raag Jog’. The chief guest was felicitated by the Principal with a token of appreciation. A short movie highlighting the achievements of the school and its students was shown to the audience leaving them awe-struck. The Principal extended a warm welcome to the chief guest and the special invitee to the ceremony.

The cultural programmes began with a dance-drama presented by the students of DPS Shiksha Kendra which depicted the sorry plight of the aged in old age homes and the arousal of conscience in their children who finally take away their parents from these homes and shower their love and affection on them. A short play comprising powerful speeches of eminent people like Mary Kom, Abdul Kalam, acid attack victim-Laxmi, Nobel laureate Yousafzai Malala and our very own Prime-Minister, Shri Narendra Modi was the show stealer. It portrayed that no matter how humble a beginning one has had, it’s important to dream big and accomplish your dreams with great determination. The skit incorporated a western song-‘Youth for Change’ and a dance on women’s empowerment.

Prof. Bhattacharjee, in his speech, expressed delight at coming back to his alma mater after almost 25 years of graduating and encouraged the students to realize their dreams. Prof. Sopory was highly appreciative of the immense talent the students of DPS R.K. Puram possessed and gave credit to the school which he said was one of the leading schools in the country. He cited the example of the Hollywood actor, Sylvester Stallone, who fulfilled his dream of becoming an actor inspite of his paralytic medical condition.

The Class Rep, Mrs. Kavita Saxena, conducted the Awards Distribution Ceremony which was being eagerly looked forward to by the audience. The Chief Guest, Prof. Sopory, Prof. Bhattacharjee, Principal, Dr. D.R. Saini and Headmistress, Ms. Vanita Sehgal presented the scholar badges, blazers and certificates to the worthy students.

The Headmistress, Ms. Vanita Sehgal, proposed the vote of thanks. The ceremony ended with the National Anthem.

(Part I)

(Part II)