CBSE North Zone I Chess Tournament

DPS, R K Puram Under 14 Team wrote history for the school by winning the CBSE North Zone I Chess Tournament, held at Mt. Abu Public School, New Delhi from Sep 6 to 8, 2012.

The Under 14 team of internationally rated players namely Naman Singh, VII J, Sumay Mishra, VI A, Jasmeher Singh Kathuria, VI D, Shashwat Goel VI D had to fight a tough battle against strong teams from Modern School, Barakhamba, DPS Mathura Road, Bal-Bharti Public School, Rohini, Modern School Vasant Vihar, Sanskriti School, schools from Punjab, Haryana and other North Zone states, all with good internationally rated players to bring home the ‘ CBSE North Zone Trophy’. Sumay Mishra and Jasmeher Singh Kathuria also won the board prizes for 1st and 2nd boards.

The team will now be playing the ‘CBSE National Chess Championship’ to be held at Indore from Nov. 1st to Nov. 5, 2012