“Physoc”, the Physics Society of Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram organized its Annual Physics Symposium on 15th December 2014. More than 500 students from 52 schools across the country participated in the various competitive events.

The chief guest for the occasion was Dr. Pratibha Jolly, Principal of Miranda House, Delhi University. The guests of honor for the event included Dr. Pinto Das, a professor in the physics department at IIT Delhi; Ms. Deepa Sachdev, management consultant at Human Capital India; Mr. Tushar Singla, a Math student at IIT Delhi and the Secretary of Board of Recreational and Creative activities at the institution; Mr.Sambhav Gupta, a B.Tech electrical engineering student at IIT Delhi and Mr. Shiven Rastogi, the Secretary of the Students Affairs Council at IIT Delhi. The Principal, DR. D.R. Saini; The Vice Principal, Mrs. Shobha Mehta; Mr. J.S. Virdi, Head of the Physics Department and Ms. Archana Deepak, teacher in charge of the Physics Society were also present on the occasion.

The event commenced with the lighting of the lamp and felicitation of the guests followed by a cultural event, with a mellifluous performance by the school orchestra. The students enthralled the audience with their mesmerizing dance performance.

The Principal, Dr. D.R. Saini welcomed the guests and talked about the importance of physics in daily life. ‘Resonance’, the new edition of the school Physics magazine was released. The Chief Guest, Ms. Pratibha Jolly, addressed the gathering and talked about working with ambition and passion and how one should be able to distinguish between a job and a profession. The Vice Principal, Ms. Shobha Mehta delivered the vote of thanks.

The program consisted of four competitive events including a debate, a Physics quiz, a demonstration and ‘Ad-dict’, the ads act competition. The debate was held on topics such as, ‘Is reality really real?’ and ‘Ad-dict’ the ads act competition consisted of topics such as ‘Invisible Cloak’ and ‘Teleportation’. In the Demonstration event, students’ practical skills were tested and they were asked to perform certain experiments and answer questions. The quiz consisted of a preliminary and a final round.

Delhi Public School, Faridabad emerged as the overall winner while Delhi Public School, Vasant Kunj received the first- runners up. Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram stood first in the ‘Ad-dict’ but being the host school, it passed on the prize to The British School while Delhi Public School, Gurgaon stood second and Modern School, Barakhamba Road bagged the third position. The first position in the quiz was won by Delhi Public School, Faridabad followed by Birla Vidya Niketan in the second and Amity International, Noida in the third position. Mount Carmel won the first position in the debate while the second position was taken by Saint George and K.R. Mangalam World School stood third. Delhi Public School, Vasant Kunj won the best interjector in the debate while The Mother’s International School stood second and Ryan International School third. The demonstration was won by Delhi Public School, Vasant Kunj and Delhi Public School, Faridabad and Springdales School at the second and third position respectively.

The event was a truly memorable experience especially for all Science enthusiasts.