Aeross, the interschool Aerospace symposium, was held at Delhi Public School, R. K. Puram on 8th and 9th October as a United Nations World Space Week event. A first of its kind event, it was an initiative by the Aerospace Society of the school which was founded in 2009 by a group of space enthusiasts under the guidance of Mr. Anil Verma, with the aim of creating a space research-based environment in the school. Over 150 students from 8 schools across the Delhi-NCR region participated in the various competitive events.

The Principal, Dr. D. R. Saini, the Vice Principal, Mrs. Shobha Mehta and other teachers were present on the occasion.

The Principal addressed the gathering and extended a warm welcome to all present. The cultural programme comprised of a ‘Ganesh Stuti’ followed by a melodious song by the Indian Vocal choir.

The first day included events like the junior and senior quizzes and group discussions, the 3-D sea plane design and senior Sci-Fi writing events. ‘War of Words’- a debate on space commercialisation, the 2-D space suit designing, Cryptospace, crossword-making competition, Airplane modelling, ‘ISquare’ space craft designing, and a surprise event were held on the second day.

The junior group discussion was won by Montfort School. DPS R. K. Puram stood second but being the host school, passed it on to Amity International School. DPS Vasant Kunj emerged as the winner in the ‘War of Words’. In the crossword making competition, Tagore International School bagged the first position, while DPS Dwarka came second followed by The Mother’s International School. The senior group discussion was won by DPS Vasant Kunj, while Amity International School stood second. DPS R. K. Puram stood first in the junior quiz, but passed it to Amity International School, DPS Vasant Kunj stood second, and DPS Dwarka stood third.In the senior quiz, DPS Vasant Kunj bagged the first position, with DPS Dwarka at second place closely followed by The Mother’s International at the third place; a special mention to the teams of DPS R. K. Puram and DPS Vasant Kunj was given. DPS Vasant Kunj secured the first position in the surprise event, the host school won second but passed it on to The Mother’s International School and Amity International School secured the third position. DPS Vasant Kunj stood first in the 2-D Aerospace, Tagore International School and Amity International School stood second and third respectively. In Cryptospace, DPS R. K. Puram emerged as winners, but passed on the award to DPS Vasant Kunj, with The Mother’s International School in the second place and Amity International School in the third. The 3-D Aerospace event was won by Tagore International School with DPS Vasant Kunj bagging the second position, while DPS R. K. Puram stood third but passed on the award to Amity International School. Amity International School stood first in Isquare while DPS Vasant Kunj and Montfort School bagged the second and third positions respectively. The event concluded with the prize distribution.