Exun Computer Symposium 2016

Glimpses of Day 1

Glimpses of Day 2

Closing Ceremony

Exun 2016

Exun Clan, the Computer Club of Delhi Public School, R.K. Puram, hosted its 21st Annual Inter-School IT Symposium, EXUN 2016 on the 26th and 27th of November, 2016. The event was sponsored by Sony, PlayStation, Zeiss, Cubelelo, Minerva, Avit and Bennett University. Exun, short for ‘Experts Unlimited’, was founded by the Head of the Computer Science department, Mr. Mukesh Kumar, and a small group of computer enthusiasts in the year 1992. ‘Exun Alumni members’ is an elite group of computer enthusiasts of all ages. This year, with over 1000+ registrations from 55 schools, Exun organised 14 different IT events.

The symposium pre-started with an Online Cryptic Hunt held over 3 days having open 1000+ participation from 33 countries and 60000+ submissions.

Present on the occasion were the Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal, Vice Principal, Dr. Renu Nayar, and Mr. Mukesh Kumar, the Head of Computer Science department, along with his team of Computer Science Teachers and technology support staff. Professor Suneet Tuli from Bennett University; Ms. Kriti Parashar, South Asia Country Director of Minerva Schools at KGI; Mr. Rajesh Diwani and Mr. Umender Shah, business head of the consumer optics division of Zeiss, graced the occasion.

EXUN 2016 commenced with the lighting of the lamp followed by a welcome note from the Presidents of the Exun Clan. The Principal, Ms. Sehgal, addressed the gathering and shared her personal experiences with the students, exhorting them never to “forget the human touch” in the era of advancing technology.

On this occasion, Exun released its 11th issue of the Annual Magazine – “UnderScore” – which was also a green move to reduce papers by reducing the articles requiring 80+ pages to 28 pages by introducing QR code for each article, where these QR Code were linked to full articles present on the website.

The official EXUN 2016 video was presented, providing a briefing about the particulars of the event. The event started with Professor Suneel Tuli  addressing the participants about the use of technology for a better world. Ms. Kriti Parashar spoke about Minerva Schools and the aim behind the project.

EXUN 2016 saw enormous participation from talented students who worked with full gusto and thoroughly enjoyed the various events. This year, the Exun Clan introduced a new and unique opportunity for expert and budding developers to showcase their amazing creations in the form of ‘Exun Demos’.

The first day included the prelims of Cubing events, Gaming, Group Discussion, Junior and Senior Quizzes, and Crossword, and the finals of Programming, Create, Turing Test, and Group Discussion categories, whereas the second day included the finals of Cubing events, Crossword, Junior and Senior Quizzes, Gaming, Hardware, and Digital Poster Design. There was also a Surprise Event, wherein students competed in multiple rounds that included Cryptic Hunt, Pac Man, Dumb Charades and a Speed Clicking Race.

Mr. Mukesh Kumar started off the Valedictory Ceremony by reminiscing about how Exun came into being. He emphasized the importance of the club’s motto “We, not I”, and commended the level of commitment and enthusiasm of both the participants as well as the club members. The ceremony was presided over by the Principal, Ms. Vanita Sehgal, who reminded the students that it’s not winning or losing, but the fun of being together that mattered.

The results of the Cubing events were as follows: in 2×2, Amity International School, Noida came first, followed by Hans Raj Modern School and DPS Vasant Kunj; Hans Raj Modern School bagged first position in 3×3, and was followed by DPS Vasant Kunj and Amity International School, Noida; Pyramix was won by Bluebells School International, and DPS Rohini and DPS Vasant Kunj came second and third respectively. DPS Vasant Kunj bagged first and second positions in Digital Poster Design, and the third position was held by Mount Saint Mary’s School. Hardware was won by DPS Vasant Kunj, and was followed by DPS Dwarka and Mount Carmel. DPS Vasant Kunj came first in Group Discussion, and DPS Dwarka and Mount Carmel came second and third respectively. In Turing Test, DPS Dwarka, The Mother’s International School, and DPS Vasant Kunj came first, second, and third respectively. DPS Dwarka bagged first position in Programming; DPS Faridabad came second and DPS Rohini came third. DPS Rohini, Modern School, Barakhamba, and DPS Noida came first, second, and third respectively in Crossword. In Junior Quiz, DPS Noida, DPS Vasant Kunj, and Ramjas School, RK Puram came first, second and third respectively, while DPS Noida bagged first position in Senior Quiz, and was followed by Modern School, Barakhamba and Mount St. Mary’s School.  Domain²+ Gaming was won by DPS Sushant Lok; DAV Shreshtha Vihar and DPS Vasant Kunj came second and third respectively. The results of Create were as follows: DPS Gurgaon came first in Web Development, and was followed by Modern School Barakhamba and DPS Vasant Kunj; DPS Vasant Kunj won Design, and DPS Gurgaon and DPS Rohini came second and third respectively; Modern School Barakhamba bagged first position in Audio Editing, while DPS Vasant Kunj and DPS Dwarka came second and third respectively; in Video Editing, DPS Rohini came first, DPS Faridabad came second, and Mount St. Mary’s School came third; Amity International School, Modern School Barakhamba, and Mount Abu Public School came first, second, and third respectively in 3D Modelling. Sudocrypt, an online global event, was won by Sparsh Tyagi, while Umesh Meena held second position and Anubhav Baweja came third. The Surprise event was won by The Mother’s International School; DPS Vasant Kunj and DPS Dwarka came second and third respectively.

The winners were also given special prizes powered by the sponsors. DPS Vasant Kunj was adjudged the overall winner. The first runner-up was DPS Dwarka, while the second runner-up was Modern School, Barakhamba Road.

The best thing of this year’s symposium was that all the events which were held in the auditorium and Gaming Venue were live streamed on facebook alongwith live results.

Mr. Mukesh Kumar ended the Symposium by thanking the judges, partners, alumni, and sponsors for making the occasion such a success.

The symposium was coordinated by Mr. Mohitendra Dey, Ms. Hema Jain, Mr.Mukesh Nagpal. The Administrative and Organizational Support was provided by Ms. Shalini Harisukh, Sarika Kaushal, Aashima Nagpal, Mr. Shekhar Sharma and technical assistance by Mr. Ajitkumar K.G., Mr. Diny Mathew, Mr. KV Joseph, Mr. Thomas CA and Mr. Shankar Giri supported by Mr. Gunanand Tiwari, Mr. Vijay Lal, Mr. Ramjas and Mr.Ram Kumar.