Theatron 2016

‘Theatron’, sponsored by Jamboree, was organized by the Expressions Theatre Club of Delhi Public School, R.K.Puram on 13 August 2016. 10 schools from across the city took part in the event. The competition had three categories: A Stage Play on the theme – ‘Monsters don’t sleep under our beds, they live inside our heads’; Street play, Face off and a surprise event.

The teacher in-charge, Ms. Sudeepta Chatterjee extended a warm welcome to the participants and spoke about theatre as a gateway of opportunity. The chief guests for the event were Mr.Munish Bhardwaj, actor, writer and director and Ms.Bubbles Sabharwal, renowned theatre artist and actor. The judges for the various competitive events were Mr. Sahil Gupta, producer, director and professional dancer; Mr. Siddharth Madan, alumnus and entrepreneur; Mr.Anirban Bhattacharya, a theatre enthusiast from Sri Venkateswara College; Ms. Shrutika Sathenapally, jury award winner for excellence in dramatics; Mr. Sparsh Rana and Mr. Ajitab Singh, alumni and ex-members of the club. A video presentation by the Expressions Theatre Club introduced the event and the organising team to the audience.

In the closing ceremony, the judges commended the performance of the students and stressed on the growing importance of theatre in schools. The Chief Guests were felicitated by the Vice Principal, Dr. Renu Nayar. A street and a stage play were presented by the members of the Expressions Theatre Club. The Chief Guests spoke about the dire need for popularising the culture of theatre in the country followed by a behind-the-scenes video presented to huge rounds of applause.

DPS Noida won the first position in the Stage Play, followed by DPS Vasant Kunj in the second position and DPS Gurgaon in the third. In the Street Play category, DPS Vasant Kunj stood first while Amity Noida and Modern School, Barakhamba Road stood second and third respectively. The Face-Off was won by DPS Gurgaon, while DPS Noida stood second and DPS Mathura Road third. The Best Actor awards in the Stage and Street categories were won by DPS Noida. DPS Noida also claimed the overall trophy for the event.

The event was highly appreciated by the participants and theatre enthusiasts, alike.

Click here to have GLIPSES of THEATRON 2016